ColdOutreach

· 9 min read · ColdOutreach editorial

Bullhorn vs JobAdder Pricing: JobAdder vs Bullhorn Cost Per Recruiter

Try the sequence composer

Sequence composer Booked

I do outreach as

Prospect industry

Tone

Sample prospect and sample sender, written for this demo.

Open Reply meetings/mo

Projected from this persona and tone, not a measured result.

Warmup active, unsubscribe included, suppression respected

Bullhorn publishes a dollar figure for exactly two of its products, Starter at $99 and Core at $165 per user per month. JobAdder publishes none at all: four fully specified plans, seat bands, an add on catalog, and not one currency symbol anywhere on the page. Between the two platforms a US staffing agency most often shortlists, seventeen named plans exist and two of them carry a price. Neither of those two can send a candidate sequence.

Both pages were read at source on September 22, 2026, Bullhorn at bullhorn.com/pricing and JobAdder at jobadder.com/pricing. The date matters more than usual here, because the pages currently ranking for this matchup are describing a JobAdder that does not exist. The consensus across page one is that JobAdder has "three pricing tiers, starting at $79 per user per month and going up to $149 per user per month." JobAdder has four plans, and its own page says the opposite of a published rate: "Rather than having a one-size-fits-all approach to our pricing, we work to understand what you need from your recruitment software and create a tailored proposal for you."

The published prices, side by side

PlanPublished priceWho it is forCan it send candidate sequences?
Bullhorn Starter$99 per user / monthSmall agenciesNo. ATS, parsing, client management, job posting
Bullhorn Core$165 per user / monthGrowing teamsNo. Adds marketplace, custom fields, LinkedIn, email sidebar
Bullhorn ProNo published priceSmall agencies wanting Amplify AIAdds AI search and match, not multi step outreach
Bullhorn MaxNo published priceAgentic workflowsYes. First tier listing multi step AI outreach
Front Office Growth / Enterprise / Bullhorn OneNo published priceLarger firmsEnterprise adds omni channel engagement and SMS
JobAdder Recruiter LiteNo published price1 to 5 users, max 5Not stated
JobAdder Recruiter EssentialNo published price6 to 20 usersNot stated. Adds lead generation and standard automations
JobAdder Recruiter ProNo published price21+ usersNot stated. Adds Pro automations
JobAdder Recruiter BusinessNo published priceIn house teams, bespokeNot stated

The structural point is easier to see in one line than in a table. Bullhorn tells you the price of the two plans that cannot do outreach, and quotes the ones that can. JobAdder tells you nothing about any of them. If you want to know what running candidate sequences costs at either vendor, you are booking a call, and that is true regardless of how small or simple your requirement is.

How much does JobAdder cost per user?

JobAdder does not publish a per user rate for any plan, so there is no honest answer to this question from the vendor's own materials. Its pricing page instead documents a three step quote process: a discovery conversation, a customized demo, and then "a pricing plan to suit you." Several widely read comparison pages fill that gap with figures in the $79 to $149 range. Those numbers do not appear on JobAdder's site, and we are not going to repeat them as fact, because we cannot verify them and the tier count attached to them is already wrong.

This is a specific and recurring error worth naming rather than just correcting. Third party comparison sites often source from procurement databases of signed contracts, then present a median of negotiated deals as if it were a published starting price. Both things can be true at once: real JobAdder agreements land at particular per seat numbers, and JobAdder publishes nothing. Presenting the first as the second is what produces a page one consensus that contradicts the vendor's own site.

The finding that actually decides it for a small agency: JobAdder gates by seat band

The missing price is the obvious story. The more useful one is how JobAdder's plans are structured, because it is unusual and it changes who can buy what.

JobAdder's agency plans are banded by headcount rather than sold by the seat. Recruiter Lite is the 1 to 5 user band and its feature list explicitly says "Maximum 5 users." Recruiter Essential is the 6 to 20 band. Recruiter Pro is 21 plus. The better automations, the benchmark dashboards, the named success manager and the sandbox all sit in Pro.

So a four recruiter agency cannot buy JobAdder's Pro automations at any price, because the plan that carries them starts at twenty one users. That is the opposite of how per seat pricing normally works, where a small team can buy the top tier and simply buy fewer seats of it. Bullhorn's published tiers work the normal way: a four person agency can buy Core at $165 per user and pay for four.

It is worth stating plainly, because it runs against intuition: the vendor that publishes no price is also the one that will not sell a small agency its better product. A five recruiter desk sits exactly on the Lite ceiling, which is an uncomfortable place to be negotiating a contract whose price you cannot see in advance.

What five recruiters pay in year one

OptionPer user / year5 recruiters, year one10 recruiters, year one
Bullhorn Starter$1,188$5,940$11,880
Bullhorn Core$1,980$9,900$19,800
Bullhorn Pro / MaxNot publishedNot computableNot computable
JobAdder, any planNot publishedNot computableNot computable

Two of the eight rows a staffing agency would want to compare can be filled in from the vendors' own websites. That is the practical state of pricing transparency in this category, and it is why we keep a running count of it on the recruiting software pricing hub, where nine vendors are tabled with the date each figure was read.

Note also what the priced Bullhorn rows buy. Starter at $5,940 for five people is applicant tracking, resume parsing, client management and job posting with a career portal. Core at $9,900 adds the app marketplace, custom fields and workflows, LinkedIn integrations and the email sidebar. Neither includes multi step candidate outreach, which first appears in the Max tier. If outreach is the gap on your desk, the published Bullhorn prices are not prices for solving it.

What is included in each, where it matters

Bullhorn's small agency ladder is Starter, Core, Pro, Max. Outreach capability climbs with it: Pro brings AI search and match, Amplify Chat and process automation; Max brings omni channel candidate engagement, agentic screening and multi step AI outreach. On the larger agency side, Front Office Enterprise carries omni channel engagement and SMS direct from Bullhorn, and Bullhorn One adds timesheets, invoicing and pay and bill for agencies that want front to back on one system.

JobAdder's ladder is Lite, Essential, Pro, Business. Essential adds multiple workflows, e-signatures, calendar sync, generative AI enhancements, a business development lead feed, workflow automations, API access and phone support. Pro adds database hygiene, marketing and business development automations, benchmark dashboards, a candidate registration form, a named success manager and a sandbox.

JobAdder also runs a separate add on catalog on top of whichever plan you land on, and two entries are relevant to anyone who cares about sending. A dedicated IP address is a paid add on, described as a way to "take control of your email deliverability and improve your sender reputation." API and sandbox access is also an add on, not available on Lite at all and free only for contracted Pro customers. So the deliverability control sits outside the plan price that already is not published.

Which is better for a staffing agency, Bullhorn or JobAdder?

Answer the question you are actually asking first, because it is usually not which ATS is better. It is whether you need a new ATS at all.

If your system of record is genuinely failing, both are credible and the decision comes down to scale and geography. Bullhorn is the incumbent in US staffing, with the deepest partner ecosystem and a front to back path through Bullhorn One if you want timesheets and pay and bill on the same platform. JobAdder is strongest in Australia and the UK, sells hard on integration breadth with more than 200 job boards, and its banded plans suit an agency that will sit comfortably inside one band for a few years rather than one crossing the five or twenty user lines soon.

If your ATS is fine and the real gap is that candidate approaches are slow and generic, buying either platform is an expensive way to solve a narrow problem, and the published prices do not even cover the tier that solves it. That is the case for keeping the system of record you have and adding an outreach layer beside it. We go through how that decision plays out for a temp and contract desk, including redeployment and sending health at volume, on the best outreach tool for staffing agencies page, and the Bullhorn tier structure on its own on the Bullhorn pricing page.

Context is worth having while you spend on tooling. The US staffing market contracted to $113.5 billion in 2025, down 8.5 percent according to the American Staffing Association, and client rosters have been consolidating from eight or twelve suppliers to three or four. Some of that demand did not disappear so much as move, as more clients go on to hire vetted contract talent directly rather than through an agency panel. A shrinking market is an argument for spending carefully on the system of record and putting the money into the outreach that wins orders.

Does either publish a price for candidate outreach?

No, and this is the cleanest finding in the comparison. Bullhorn publishes $99 and $165 for two plans, and the first tier that lists multi step AI outreach is Max, which says "Talk to us." JobAdder publishes nothing, and its sending related capability is a paid add on whose price is also unpublished. So across seventeen plans at the two vendors a US staffing agency is most likely to shortlist, there is no published price at which candidate outreach can be bought.

That is not an accusation of bad faith. Enterprise software is sold this way for real reasons, including implementation scope, data migration and multi year terms. It is simply a fact worth knowing before you build a budget from a comparison page, because the comparison pages are filling the gap with numbers the vendors do not print.

How to get a real number out of either vendor

Both sell through a quote process, so treat the first call as a pricing exercise rather than a demo. Bring your exact seat count, ask for the per user rate and the contract term in the same sentence, and ask specifically which tier contains candidate sequencing, because that is where the published and quoted worlds separate. Ask what implementation costs and whether it is genuinely included, since Bullhorn's published tiers advertise free implementation and the larger plans do not say so. Ask what happens at renewal, and get the uplift in writing rather than as a reassurance.

With JobAdder, add one more question that its own page makes necessary: which band you will be placed in and what happens when you cross the boundary. A six user agency has just left Lite. A twenty one user agency has just entered Pro. Those transitions are priced events, and they are the part of the model you can see clearly even though the numbers are hidden.

The short version

Bullhorn publishes two prices, $99 and $165 per user per month, for two plans that do not do outreach. JobAdder publishes no price for any of its four plans and caps its entry plan at five users while reserving its best automations for agencies of twenty one or more. Page one currently says JobAdder has three tiers from $79 to $149, and JobAdder's own page says it writes a tailored proposal instead. If outreach is what you are buying, neither vendor will tell you what it costs until you are on a call, which is a reasonable moment to ask whether you need a second platform or a layer that sits beside the one you already have.

ColdOutreach researches every prospect, writes the sequence and keeps your domain safe. Try the cold email software yourself: pick a persona on the homepage and watch it draft your sequence, no account needed.

Keep reading

Your next 50 prospects, researched and drafted by tonight

Connect your inbox, import your list, and let ColdOutreach research every prospect and write sequences that book meetings.

See pricing

No credit card required · Unsubscribe honored on every send